What not to read

I haven’t been reading nearly as much as I’d intended just recently. Last night I thought I’d read before going to sleep, as reading makes me sleepy at the best of times and I’m not very good as going to sleep.

Unfortunately, (I feel as though that word gets used a lot on this blog!) in this case reading proved to be counter-productive. Without going into the details, may I recommend that should anyone decide to read Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk it might be an idea to skip pages 18-21. I’m sure this will make some people curious as to what could be so disturbing as to get to one such as myself who watches all sorts of violent horror movies etc. Take my advice: DO NOT READ IT. Once you’ve read it, that’s it, you cannot unread it afterwards.

I decided that it was pathetic skipping a section of the book. I decided that I should press on, that I wasn’t going to back down from the challange. I really wish I hadn’t read those words, in that particular order. I wish I could somehow forget it, to wipe that particular section of my memory. I just know that’s gonna keep coming back to me for the rest of my life. To try and take my mind off it I started to read Consider Phlebas by Iain M. Banks. It didn’t help. Not even a little. I ended up laid in bed watching BBC News 24.

*** Update ***

I found out last night I  actually put up the wrong page numbers – it’s 16-21 that are the problem. By page 18 it’s already too late.  At the end of the book there’s an afterword (where else would an afterword be?) by the author, who tells of his experience on the book tour. He read the short story in question and people fainted; men and women, usually two or three and at the same point in the story.

~ by yorksdevil on July 29, 2007.

4 Responses to “What not to read”

  1. I now have to read that book. Thank you.

  2. Don’t do it, it’s not worth it!

  3. Is it worse than the Da Vinci Code 😉

  4. Having not read the Da Vinci Code I can’t accurately judge just how awful it is. Haunted isn’t a bad book, quite the reverse. It is rather depraved in places and I wish I hadn’t read pages 18-21, but it’s still a good book.

Leave a Reply

 
