Perception

I’m starting to see that other people seem to see me in a particular way which is at odds with my own.

Before the exam on Monday, one of my collegues (let’s call her T) said to me, “I don’t know what you’re worried for, you always seem to know what you’re on about!”

Today, down in Key Texts myself, S, G and the attractive Red Head I mentioned a while back were studying. S, G and I are all doing American Politics on Thursday whereas RH is doing South Africa tomorrow. As it is a ‘seen’ exam we know the questions (which is very weird) and nobody is happy about them. G was saying to RH about how nobody seems to know how to answer the questions “…except for this guy, (motions towards me) who knows everything.”

A little later RH embarrased me when she just suddenly asked me, “So why did the South become Republican?” She put me on the spot a bit there.

Anyway, my point is that somehow I seem to have acquired a reputation as some kind of knowledgeable high achiever, that I don’t think I deserve. G has generally got marks as good as mine this year as far as I’m aware and I don’t know what other people have got. In the same vein, G said he thinks he must put on a good facade of knowing more than he does as he claims to be in great difficulty with this but I’m sure he’ll do fine.

~ by yorksdevil on May 22, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
